House Information

The house system is a very important part of Academy life.

The four houses are:

SnowdonBredonMalvern Clent
Ms R BirchMr D MorrisMr S SinghMr M Iliffe

Head of Houses: Mr J Adams

Each house has its own values with the general ethos being geared towards caring, teamwork, responsibility, support, achievement and enjoyment.

The Sports Day Shield carries the Latin phrase “res non verba” which means “Actions not words.

Over the course of the year, there are numerous house events. There is something to cater for everyone’s interests. Here are just some examples of the events which are offered to all pupils:

  • Ormiston Forge Academy: Talent Show
  • Football
  • Art
  • Spelling bee
  • Netball
  • Dodgeball
  • Tug of war
  • Cross country
  • Countdown
  • Chef of the Year
  • Sports day
  • Benchball
  • Basketball
  • Softball

Houses collect points for their endeavours throughout the year with the winner gaining the house trophy.

House Trivia

1. House Names

Originally, Heathfield School, which preceded the current Academy, was spread around the Old Hill and Cradley Heath area and on several sites. There were 5 houses – Mace (named after Macefields School), Old (Old Hill), Heath (Cradley Heath Secondary School), Cwm (short for Ysgoldyr Cwm) and School.

Cwm House is named after house represents our Mountain Centre in Wales, Ysgoldyr Cwm . This is pronounced “Iss-gold-eer Cum” and means “School in the Valley”.

2. House Colours

Old – Yellow. Heath – Green. Mace – Blue. School – White. Cwm – Red.

3. 1985

1985 was the year when ‘School’ house was removed from the system.

4. 1994/95

It was decided that the house system needed a fresh start and new names were needed. A competition was organised and was won by Lydia Hook (a year 8 Cwm student at the time).

  • Old becomes Bredon. (Heads of House: Mr M Adamson, Miss B Williams)
  • Heath becomes Clent. (Heads of House: Mr S Creevy, Mrs D Fellows)
  • Mace becomes Malvern. (Heads of House: Mr R Spear, Mrs J Adamson)
  • Cwm becomes Snowdon. (Heads of House: Miss A Granger, Mr A Watts)

5. Previous Heads of House

School: Mr M Adamson

Old/Bredon: Mr D Varty, Mr M Adamson, Miss B Williams, Mr J Carpenter, Miss E Johnson, Mr D P Morris.

Heath/Clent: Mr L Parsons, Miss P Halford, Mrs J Cheslin, Mrs C Wildboar, Mrs J Turner, Miss Orme, Miss K Wilkes, Mr J Ward, Mr N Watkins, Miss Granger, Miss Deeny, Mr Iliffe.

Mace/Malvern: Mr F Pattinson, Mr D Castles, Mr D J Morris, Mr R Spear, Mr S Creevey, Miss R Bennett, Mr A Seddon, Mr P Corbett, Mr M Murray, Miss G Alldritt, Miss H Tonks, Mr Bradley, Miss Barlow.

Cwm/Snowdon: Mrs S Neale, Mr A Watts, Miss C Bennett, Mr N Penn, Mr Gill, Miss Goodridge, Mr J Mitchell.

6. Longest serving Head of House

The current longest serving Head of House is Mr D Morris (Bredon). He began his role in 2001.

Trophy Winners

YearHouse TrophySports Day Trophy
2007BredonCancelled (Weather)
2014Snowdon/ BredonBredon
2017BredonCancelled (Weather)
2020Snowdon (virtual)

Most Sports Day wins – Bredon (10) Snowdon (10), Malvern (4), Clent (1)

Most House Trophies – Snowdon (10), Bredon (10), Malvern (4), Clent (1)

The Double – Bredon (7) Snowdon (5), Malvern (3), Bredon (3), Clent (0)